Building Bridges Conference–Dr. James Merritt

Posted: November 27, 2007 in Calvinism, Dr. James Merritt

God’s Treasure Chest

The Riches of Christ

How to find out how rich you are: “Add up everything that death cannot take away from you and money cannot buy.” Dr. Adrian Rogers

Ephesians 1:3-7

  • The Emerald of Election 1:3-4

Election was not meant to bring fear but to bolster faith.

Priority of Election–Before the foundation of the world. God chose me first when I had no choice. John 15:16. Charles Spurgeon–I am glad that God chose me before I came into this world because if he would have waited until after I came into the world he would have never chosen me. Any man, any time, at any place, can choose to be saved.

Purpose of Election–I am chosen to be holy. We have begun to make fun of holiness. Holiness is not what we do for God, holiness is what God does in us. Getting isolated from the world is not being isolated from the world; holiness is being insulated from the world. Holiness is to be set apart. I was not chosen to be different; I am different because I am chosen.

  • The Pearl of Predestination v.5

Predestination does not mean that God has programed everthing in you life and there is nothing you can do about it. It does not mean that some are predestined to heaven and some are predestined to hell. Predestination refers to God’s Children.

Predestined to Adoption–I have such an intimate close relationship with God, I call him not only Father, but Dad. We not only that but we are joint heirs with Jesus Christ.

Predestined to the Praise of God’s Glory for all Eternity v. 11-12

Predestined to be conformed to the Image of his Son Romans 8:29

Predestination is not a poison but a pearl.

  • Ruby of Redemption v. 7

We were redeemed before we were adopted. Fanny Crosby “Redeemed How I love to proclaim it.” Charles Spurgeon said: Morality can keep a person out of jail, but it takes the blood of Jesus to keep a man out of Hell.”

Forgiveness of our Sins–

  • The Gold of Grace V. 7

The chest is gold and the key to the chest is faith. Once that key unlocks the chest then there is the emerald, pearl, and ruby are there.

Dr. Merritt just admitted he is only a 3 point Calvinist. “We are all in the same boat, we may be wrong but never in doubt.” He tells a story about a young man he met on the plane whose name is Chris. Dr. Merritt said he did not stop to explain the 5-points he merely shared an old story. He then told us that we could fight over this stuff all we wanted but there are too many Chris’ in the world.

Great Message!

Comments are closed.